Today I Bought Myself Flowers

As a city person, I consider buying fresh flowers a luxury. It’s almost along the same line as paying for a manicure or pedicure—it can be a lot of money for temporary pleasure.

Ever since the home buying process began, I’ve been living frugally, waiting for my finances to even out. On top of buying a home, the physical acts of moving and getting settled in can add up in expenses. And until I finish unpacking my last box and moving in that last piece of furniture (which will be next weekend with the couch and accent chair) I will continue to forbid myself the indulgence of pretty nails—nails that will only be destroyed with the manual labor involved with “settling in.”

Flowers

Table flowers

But I let myself slip today with the flowers. And they weren’t that expensive, to be honest. (Although if I add them to my weekly shopping list like I’d like to, it could get scary.) But I made an exception today. The condo was looking stark without living room furniture and needed some color and sophistication that only a vase of fresh flowers could bring, so I broke down and bought two bouquets at Whole Foods today, slipping them into my favorite vase at home.

As I admired them throughout the afternoon, pleased with my splurge, I came to the conclusion that it’s important to buy oneself flowers every once in a while. And they don’t have to be flowers literally and it doesn’t have to be something that can be bought. The point is to once in a while allow yourself to experience something simple that brings you pleasure, a treat you wouldn’t ordinarily indulge in but one that makes you happy.

Today it was flowers. Next week, it might be donuts, who knows? What was your “flower purchase” today?

Leave a Reply

